What does a one-time purchase actually mean?
Short answer
For most people the best one-time purchase is DaVinci Resolve: the free edition is a full editor, and Studio is a single payment ($295 list, $236 shown on October 20, 2026). Final Cut Pro is $299.99 once on Mac. On Windows, PowerDirector 2027 and Filmora sell perpetual licences that cover one version only. Rushilo is $19 to $49 once if you want your own AI agent to do the cutting, with AI costs separate.
A one-time purchase means you pay once and keep using the software without a renewal. That part is simple. What differs between vendors is what happens next. Some include every future version, some include bug fixes for the version you bought and charge for the next major release, and some include no regular updates at all. The price is only half the comparison; the update wording is the other half.
Every row below was read on the vendor's own page on October 20, 2026. Prices change, and promotions often have no stated end date, so check again at checkout. This page covers video editors only, on Mac and Windows. For other creator tools you can buy once on a Mac, see buy-once Mac apps for creators. If you want a free editor instead, the free video editor with no watermark page checks each limit.
Video editors you can buy once
DaVinci Resolve
- Platform
- Mac, Windows, Linux
- One-time price
- Free
- What one-time covers
- Full editor at no cost
- The catch
- Steep learning curve; some features are Studio only
DaVinci Resolve Studio
- Platform
- Mac, Windows, Linux
- One-time price
- $295 list; $236 shown on Oct 20
- What one-time covers
- Blackmagic's page states no upgrade terms
- The catch
- Promotion end date not stated; demanding on the GPU
Final Cut Pro
- Platform
- Mac only
- One-time price
- $299.99
- What one-time covers
- Apple: owners continue to be updated
- The catch
- Some premium content is for Creator Studio subscribers
PowerDirector 2027
- Platform
- Windows
- One-time price
- $139.99
- What one-time covers
- That version; no regular updates after purchase
- The catch
- New features and AI credits go to the 365 subscription
Filmora (perpetual)
- Platform
- Windows or Mac, separate licences
- One-time price
- $79.99
- What one-time covers
- Updates to the current major version only
- The catch
- Next major version is a paid upgrade
Vegas Pro
- Platform
- Windows
- One-time price
- Price not shown when we checked
- What one-time covers
- Perpetual licence still offered
- The catch
- Newer AI features sit in the subscription
Rushilo
- Platform
- Mac and Windows
- One-time price
- $19 (1 computer), $29 (3 computers), $49 (5 computers)
- What one-time covers
- Updates included
- The catch
- Needs your own AI account; Windows build unsigned
| Editor | Platform | One-time price | What one-time covers | The catch |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DaVinci Resolve | Mac, Windows, Linux | Free | Full editor at no cost | Steep learning curve; some features are Studio only |
| DaVinci Resolve Studio | Mac, Windows, Linux | $295 list; $236 shown on Oct 20 | Blackmagic's page states no upgrade terms | Promotion end date not stated; demanding on the GPU |
| Final Cut Pro | Mac only | $299.99 | Apple: owners continue to be updated | Some premium content is for Creator Studio subscribers |
| PowerDirector 2027 | Windows | $139.99 | That version; no regular updates after purchase | New features and AI credits go to the 365 subscription |
| Filmora (perpetual) | Windows or Mac, separate licences | $79.99 | Updates to the current major version only | Next major version is a paid upgrade |
| Vegas Pro | Windows | Price not shown when we checked | Perpetual licence still offered | Newer AI features sit in the subscription |
| Rushilo | Mac and Windows | $19 (1 computer), $29 (3 computers), $49 (5 computers) | Updates included | Needs your own AI account; Windows build unsigned |
We could not verify a current US one-time price for Movavi Video Editor, Corel VideoStudio, Pinnacle Studio or Adobe Premiere Elements on the vendors' own pages that day, so they are left out rather than quoted from third-party lists. CapCut is not a buy-once editor: it has a free tier and subscriptions, covered in the CapCut pricing log.
Which video editors moved to subscriptions?
The clearest case is Camtasia. TechSmith says all 2025 and later versions are subscription licences, while perpetual versions bought earlier keep working. Copies sold through the Mac App Store stay on version 2024.
Others kept a perpetual option but moved the new work into a subscription. CyberLink's plan page leads with PowerDirector 365 and says the 2027 perpetual licence gets no regular updates or new content after purchase. Wondershare says Filmora's perpetual plan covers updates to the version you bought but not upgrades to future major versions. Vegas Pro, now owned by Boris FX, still offers a perpetual licence next to a subscription, according to CG Channel's report on the acquisition.
Is Final Cut Pro a one-time purchase?
Yes. Final Cut Pro is $299.99 once on the Mac App Store. Apple now also includes it in the Apple Creator Studio subscription, which caused some confusion. Apple's own answer on the Final Cut Pro page: a one-time purchase is still available, some premium content is subscriber only, and if you already own Final Cut Pro it will continue to be updated. It runs only on a Mac.
What is the best and cheapest video editor by budget?
$0
- Start with
- DaVinci Resolve (free)
- Why
- A complete editor; upgrade to Studio only if you hit a limit
Under $100
- Start with
- Rushilo from $19, or Filmora at $79.99
- Why
- Rushilo if an AI agent does the cutting; Filmora for a template-led editor on one version
$100 to $200
- Start with
- PowerDirector 2027 at $139.99
- Why
- Windows, feature-rich, but frozen at that version
$200 to $300
- Start with
- DaVinci Resolve Studio or Final Cut Pro
- Why
- Long-lived tools with a record of updates; Final Cut on Mac only
| Budget | Start with | Why |
|---|---|---|
| $0 | DaVinci Resolve (free) | A complete editor; upgrade to Studio only if you hit a limit |
| Under $100 | Rushilo from $19, or Filmora at $79.99 | Rushilo if an AI agent does the cutting; Filmora for a template-led editor on one version |
| $100 to $200 | PowerDirector 2027 at $139.99 | Windows, feature-rich, but frozen at that version |
| $200 to $300 | DaVinci Resolve Studio or Final Cut Pro | Long-lived tools with a record of updates; Final Cut on Mac only |
The Reddit thread that ranks first for this search is from 2023, and its most common answer still holds: start with Resolve free and pay once for Studio if you outgrow it. If you are on a Mac and prefer a simpler interface, Final Cut Pro is the other long-term purchase.
Where Rushilo fits
We make Rushilo, so weigh this section accordingly. Rushilo is a one-time purchase, $19 (1 computer), $29 (3 computers), $49 (5 computers), with updates included. It edits on Mac and Windows; screen recording is Mac only. It is built to be driven by the AI you already use: Claude Code, Codex or another MCP client cuts, captions and arranges a timeline you can watch and undo.
It is not a replacement for Resolve's colour tools, and the Windows build is not yet code-signed, so Windows shows a SmartScreen warning on install. A licence covers 1, 3 or 5 computers, depending on the plan. If an AI-driven timeline is what you want without another subscription, Buy Rushilo.
Three questions to ask before buying any one-time editor
- Does the next major version cost extra? Look for the words “upgrade” versus “update”. Filmora and PowerDirector spell this out; many vendors do not.
- Are the AI features credit based? A one-time licence can still come with AI credits that run out, with more sold separately.
- How many computers, and which platforms? Filmora licences are platform specific. Check whether one purchase covers both your laptop and your desktop.
If you also want your AI agent to do the editing, the local vs cloud AI editing guide explains where your footage goes in each setup.
Frequently asked questions
Is Final Cut Pro a one-time purchase?
Yes. Final Cut Pro is sold for $299.99 once on the Mac App Store, and Apple says that if you already own it, it will continue to be updated. Apple also offers it inside the Apple Creator Studio subscription, and some premium content is available only to subscribers. Checked October 20, 2026.
Is Vegas Pro a one-time purchase?
Vegas Pro is still offered with a perpetual licence after Boris FX bought it in 2026, alongside a subscription that carries the newer AI features. We could not read a perpetual price on the vendor store on October 20, 2026, so confirm the price and whether major upgrades cost extra at checkout.
What is the best video editor with a one-time purchase?
It depends on the job. DaVinci Resolve Studio suits colour work and heavy editing on Mac, Windows or Linux, and its free edition covers most people. Final Cut Pro suits Mac users. Rushilo, at $19, $29 or $49 once, suits people who want Claude Code or Codex to do the cutting on a timeline they can undo, with AI costs paid separately.
What is the cheapest video editor without a subscription?
DaVinci Resolve's free edition is the cheapest: a full editor that costs nothing. Among paid one-time licences we checked, Rushilo starts at $19 for one computer but needs your own AI account, and Filmora's perpetual plan is $79.99 for one version. Cheapest is not best, so match the tool to your footage.
Does a one-time purchase include future versions?
Not always. Filmora says its perpetual plan includes updates to the current major version but not upgrades to future ones. CyberLink says PowerDirector 2027 does not receive regular updates after purchase. Apple says Final Cut Pro owners will keep getting updates. Read each vendor's update wording before you pay.
Which video editors went subscription only?
TechSmith moved Camtasia to subscription for 2025 and later versions; perpetual copies bought earlier keep working. CyberLink and Wondershare now lead with subscriptions but still sell perpetual licences. Final Cut Pro and DaVinci Resolve Studio are still sold once. Check the vendor's own page for anything else.
Is DaVinci Resolve really free?
Yes. Blackmagic offers DaVinci Resolve as a free download, and many creators never need more. DaVinci Resolve Studio is the paid version, sold once, that adds features such as higher frame rates and resolutions and more AI tools. Blackmagic listed it at $236 on October 20, 2026, against a $295 list price.
How much does DaVinci Resolve Studio cost?
DaVinci Resolve Studio is a one-time purchase. Blackmagic's product page showed $236 on October 22, 2026, against the $295 list price noted on this site. The free edition costs nothing but omits some Studio features. Prices change with promotions, so confirm on Blackmagic's site before you buy.
Sources
- Blackmagic Design: DaVinci ResolveUS page showed Studio at $236 against a $295 list price, end date not stated. Checked October 20, 2026; $236 seen again October 22, 2026.
- Apple: Final Cut ProFAQ: one-time purchase still available, owners continue to receive updates, some premium content subscriber only. Checked October 20, 2026.
- Mac App Store: Final Cut Pro$299.99 one-time. Checked October 20, 2026.
- CyberLink: PowerDirector plansPowerDirector 2027 perpetual licence $139.99 USD; no regular updates after purchase. Checked October 20, 2026.
- Wondershare: Filmora plans and FAQPerpetual plan covers updates to the current major version only; licences are platform specific. Checked October 20, 2026.
- CG Channel: Boris FX acquires Vegas ProMarch 31, 2026 report on licensing after the acquisition.
- TechSmith: transition to subscription pricingAll 2025 and later versions are subscription licences; earlier perpetual versions remain usable. Checked October 20, 2026.
- Rushilo pricingOne-time licence for 1, 3 or 5 computers, updates included. Checked October 20, 2026.
Cite this page
Last verified: Oct 22, 2026
Patel, O. (2026, October 22). Video editors you can buy once: prices and what one-time covers. Rushilo. https://rushilo.com/blog/video-editor-one-time-purchase

About the author
Founder, Rushilo
Om Patel is the founder of Rushilo, a desktop video editor driven by the user's own AI, and of BigIdeasDB, a research platform that reads real complaints and reviews to help founders validate products. He writes Rushilo's research articles with the same method: primary sources, dated numbers and the words real users write.