On this page
- 01Which AI video generator is best for stories?
- 02What does a story short need from a model?
- 03How do the models compare?
- 04Model by model
- 05Why does the same model cost different amounts?
- 06What does a 60 second story cost?
- 07Can you use the output commercially?
- 08What does the course use?
- 09What we read and did not test
- 10FAQ
- 11Sources
- 12Cite this page
Which AI video generator is best for stories?
Short answer
There is no single best AI video generator for stories, but there is a checklist. For vertical story shorts, pick a model that accepts reference images, outputs 9:16, makes clips of about 8 to 15 seconds and generates dialogue. On their own pages, Seedance, Kling 3.0, Veo and MiniMax H3 cover most of that. Sora is gone. Many of these models are also sold inside other apps at different prices. Nobody can promise views.
The honest answer depends on your use case: a vertical story short with one recurring character, a few lines of dialogue and a total length under a minute. If that is you, the rest of this page compares the models on exactly that. If you want a cinematic single shot or a product ad, other criteria matter and this table will mislead you.
All figures come from each vendor's own pages, read on October 22, 2026. This market moved fast in 2026: Sora is discontinued, and Google's own documents disagree about Veo. We did not generate a story with every model, so where a page did not say something, the cell below says "not confirmed" or "not published" instead of guessing. For the workflow around the model, read how to make AI story videos; this page only answers which generator.
What does a story short need from a model?
Six things decide whether a model works for a story, in roughly this order of pain:
- Clip length. Longer clips mean fewer cuts to stitch and fewer chances for the look to drift.
- Character reference. Can you upload images so the same character appears in every shot?
- Dialogue with lip sync. Can the model speak a line with matching mouth movement, or do you add voice later?
- 9:16. Vertical output for TikTok, Reels and Shorts without cropping.
- Price per clip. Vendors publish credits, per-second rates or monthly plans, which are hard to compare.
- Commercial terms. Whether you may post the output on a monetised account.
A creator in r/generativeAI put the first problem plainly: "I found that one of the hardest parts was the character identity shifting between shots." That is one comment, not data, but it matches why reference images sit second on the list.
One more rule of thumb: run a cheap test before you commit to a plan. Generate the same three shots of your character on two models, with the same reference image and the same written description, and compare how the face, outfit and style hold. A model that wins on a spec sheet but fails that test costs you every retry. Most services let you try a few clips before a monthly plan, but free tiers often carry a watermark and no commercial licence, so read the plan before you post a test.
How do the models compare?
Two tables, both last checked October 22, 2026. The first covers what the model can make. The second covers price and terms. A model reached through another app may have different limits than the maker's own page.
Seedance 2.5 (BytePlus direct)
- Max clip
- 4 to 30 s
- Reference images
- First and last frame, up to 50 reference assets (30 images, 10 videos, 10 audio). Real human face uploads not supported directly
- Dialogue and lip sync
- Native audio, dialogue marked in the prompt. Lip sync shown in vendor examples
- Aspect ratios
- 21:9, 16:9, 4:3, 1:1, 3:4, 9:16, adaptive
Seedance 2.0 (BytePlus direct)
- Max clip
- 4 to 15 s
- Reference images
- Yes, reference assets
- Dialogue and lip sync
- Not confirmed
- Aspect ratios
- Not confirmed
Seedance 2.0 (Higgsfield)
- Max clip
- 15 s per shot
- Reference images
- Up to 9 images, 3 videos, 3 audio. Higgsfield says faces and clothing stay locked
- Dialogue and lip sync
- Higgsfield says synchronized dialogue with lip sync in one pass
- Aspect ratios
- Not confirmed
Kling 3.0 (kling.ai)
- Max clip
- 3 to 15 s
- Reference images
- Omni reference workflow with element and voice control
- Dialogue and lip sync
- Native audio with dialogue, ambience and lip movement
- Aspect ratios
- Not confirmed
Veo 3.1 (Flow, Vertex)
- Max clip
- 4, 6 or 8 s (8 s for 1080p, 4K and with references)
- Reference images
- First and last frame, up to 3 reference images
- Dialogue and lip sync
- Native dialogue and sound. Google says speech remains an area of active development
- Aspect ratios
- 16:9 and 9:16
Gemini Omni Flash (Google)
- Max clip
- 4, 6, 8 or 10 s in Flow
- Reference images
- Text and images. Google claims character consistency, no reference spec read
- Dialogue and lip sync
- Audio generated. Lip sync detail not published
- Aspect ratios
- 16:9 and 9:16 per a third-party page only
MiniMax H3 (MiniMax)
- Max clip
- Up to 15 s, 2K
- Reference images
- Text, image, video and audio references. No spec read
- Dialogue and lip sync
- Native stereo sound. Lip sync detail not published
- Aspect ratios
- Not confirmed
Runway Gen-4.5 (runway.com)
- Max clip
- Not confirmed
- Reference images
- Not confirmed. Runway also hosts Seedance and Kling
- Dialogue and lip sync
- Not confirmed
- Aspect ratios
- Not confirmed
Pika (pika.art)
- Max clip
- Not confirmed for Pika's own model
- Reference images
- Character Studio exists, spec not read
- Dialogue and lip sync
- Not confirmed
- Aspect ratios
- Not confirmed
OpenAI Sora
- Max clip
- Discontinued
- Reference images
- Discontinued
- Dialogue and lip sync
- Discontinued
- Aspect ratios
- Discontinued
| Model (where) | Max clip | Reference images | Dialogue and lip sync | Aspect ratios |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Seedance 2.5 (BytePlus direct) | 4 to 30 s | First and last frame, up to 50 reference assets (30 images, 10 videos, 10 audio). Real human face uploads not supported directly | Native audio, dialogue marked in the prompt. Lip sync shown in vendor examples | 21:9, 16:9, 4:3, 1:1, 3:4, 9:16, adaptive |
| Seedance 2.0 (BytePlus direct) | 4 to 15 s | Yes, reference assets | Not confirmed | Not confirmed |
| Seedance 2.0 (Higgsfield) | 15 s per shot | Up to 9 images, 3 videos, 3 audio. Higgsfield says faces and clothing stay locked | Higgsfield says synchronized dialogue with lip sync in one pass | Not confirmed |
| Kling 3.0 (kling.ai) | 3 to 15 s | Omni reference workflow with element and voice control | Native audio with dialogue, ambience and lip movement | Not confirmed |
| Veo 3.1 (Flow, Vertex) | 4, 6 or 8 s (8 s for 1080p, 4K and with references) | First and last frame, up to 3 reference images | Native dialogue and sound. Google says speech remains an area of active development | 16:9 and 9:16 |
| Gemini Omni Flash (Google) | 4, 6, 8 or 10 s in Flow | Text and images. Google claims character consistency, no reference spec read | Audio generated. Lip sync detail not published | 16:9 and 9:16 per a third-party page only |
| MiniMax H3 (MiniMax) | Up to 15 s, 2K | Text, image, video and audio references. No spec read | Native stereo sound. Lip sync detail not published | Not confirmed |
| Runway Gen-4.5 (runway.com) | Not confirmed | Not confirmed. Runway also hosts Seedance and Kling | Not confirmed | Not confirmed |
| Pika (pika.art) | Not confirmed for Pika's own model | Character Studio exists, spec not read | Not confirmed | Not confirmed |
| OpenAI Sora | Discontinued | Discontinued | Discontinued | Discontinued |
Seedance 2.5 (BytePlus)
- Price per clip, as published
- 5 s: 480p $0.514, 720p $1.156, 1080p $2.843 (no video input)
- Commercial use, as published
- Not found in the pages we read
Seedance 2.0 (BytePlus)
- Price per clip, as published
- 5 s: Mini 480p $0.18, Fast 720p $0.60, standard 720p $0.76, 1080p $1.87
- Commercial use, as published
- Not found in the pages we read
Seedance 2.0 (Higgsfield)
- Price per clip, as published
- Credits only. Basic plan 120 credits a month, about 7 Seedance 2.0 Fast videos, clip length not stated
- Commercial use, as published
- Outputs yours, commercial use not restricted (Terms 4.4). Watermark on free plans
Kling 3.0
- Price per clip, as published
- Credit plans (see the Kling section). API list price 0.9 units a second at $0.14 a unit for 720p with audio
- Commercial use, as published
- Terms and plan page disagree, both quoted below
Veo 3.1 (Flow)
- Price per clip, as published
- Credits per generation: Lite 10, Fast 20, Quality 100. No dollar price per clip published
- Commercial use, as published
- Gemini API terms: Google will not claim ownership. Flow consumer terms not read
Gemini Omni Flash
- Price per clip, as published
- API about $0.10 a second at 720p. Flow 720p: 7 credits for 4 s, 12 for 8 s, 15 for 10 s
- Commercial use, as published
- Not separately confirmed
MiniMax H3
- Price per clip, as published
- No dollar figure published. Runway lists hailuo3 at 10 credits a second (768p) and 15 (2K)
- Commercial use, as published
- Blog says ready for commercial content creation. Licence terms not read
Runway
- Price per clip, as published
- Gen-4.5: 60 credits per 5 s. Standard plan $15 a month for 625 credits
- Commercial use, as published
- Terms 4.4 do not restrict commercial use of Outputs
Pika
- Price per clip, as published
- Seedance 2.5 720p 5 s: 122 credits. Starter $10 for 900 credits, Creator $35 for 3,150
- Commercial use, as published
- Commercial licence on Starter and above, none on Free
| Model (where) | Price per clip, as published | Commercial use, as published |
|---|---|---|
| Seedance 2.5 (BytePlus) | 5 s: 480p $0.514, 720p $1.156, 1080p $2.843 (no video input) | Not found in the pages we read |
| Seedance 2.0 (BytePlus) | 5 s: Mini 480p $0.18, Fast 720p $0.60, standard 720p $0.76, 1080p $1.87 | Not found in the pages we read |
| Seedance 2.0 (Higgsfield) | Credits only. Basic plan 120 credits a month, about 7 Seedance 2.0 Fast videos, clip length not stated | Outputs yours, commercial use not restricted (Terms 4.4). Watermark on free plans |
| Kling 3.0 | Credit plans (see the Kling section). API list price 0.9 units a second at $0.14 a unit for 720p with audio | Terms and plan page disagree, both quoted below |
| Veo 3.1 (Flow) | Credits per generation: Lite 10, Fast 20, Quality 100. No dollar price per clip published | Gemini API terms: Google will not claim ownership. Flow consumer terms not read |
| Gemini Omni Flash | API about $0.10 a second at 720p. Flow 720p: 7 credits for 4 s, 12 for 8 s, 15 for 10 s | Not separately confirmed |
| MiniMax H3 | No dollar figure published. Runway lists hailuo3 at 10 credits a second (768p) and 15 (2K) | Blog says ready for commercial content creation. Licence terms not read |
| Runway | Gen-4.5: 60 credits per 5 s. Standard plan $15 a month for 625 credits | Terms 4.4 do not restrict commercial use of Outputs |
| Pika | Seedance 2.5 720p 5 s: 122 credits. Starter $10 for 900 credits, Creator $35 for 3,150 | Commercial licence on Starter and above, none on Free |
Model by model
Seedance. Seedance is the model family from ByteDance. On BytePlus, Seedance 2.5 takes clips of 4 to 30 seconds and up to 50 reference assets, and covers 9:16. Seedance 2.0 reaches 15 seconds. It is also sold inside Higgsfield, Runway and Pika (next section). It has the longest published clips here, which matters for story pacing.
Kling 3.0. Kling lists 3 to 15 second clips, native audio with lip movement and an Omni reference workflow. Its plans are credit tiers: Standard, Pro and higher, with a monthly credit allowance. We print no single plan price because the plan page showed $8.8 a month for Standard on renewal, while Kling's own blog showed lower first-month prices. Check the page on the day you buy.
Google Veo and Gemini Omni Flash. Veo 3.1 supports 9:16 with reference images, but only up to 8 seconds. Whether it is still available is contested inside Google's own documents. The Veo guide still lists the veo-3.1-generate-preview model, while the video generation guide states, "The Veo 3.1 Preview in the Gemini API has been shut down" and recommends Gemini Omni Flash. Google's Gemini app page also says Omni will replace Veo there. Treat Veo's API status as unclear and check before you build on it. Flow publishes credits per generation, not dollars per clip.
MiniMax H3. MiniMax says up to 15 seconds at 2K with native stereo sound and references in several formats. It publishes no dollar price, only a claim that its 2K per-second price is under a third of mainstream models. We could not confirm its aspect ratios or licence terms.
Runway. Runway's own Gen-4.5 specs for clip length, references and dialogue were not confirmed in what we read, so we leave them blank. Its Pro and Max plans list Seedance 2.5, Kling 3.0 and Nano Banana Pro, so it works as a shop for other models.
Pika. Pika lists Seedance 2.5, MiniMax H3, Wan 3.0 and Gemini Omni 1.1 Flash among its models. We did not read its own model's specs.
Sora. OpenAI says the Sora web and app experiences were discontinued on April 26, 2026, and the API on September 24, 2026. Skip any ranking that still lists it.
Why does the same model cost different amounts?
Because "which generator" is often "which model, bought where." The same Seedance 2.5 clip at 720p for 5 seconds lists at $1.156 on BytePlus and 122 credits on Pika, and Runway sells it inside credit plans. Each seller sets its own credits, plans, limits and terms, and a model inside an app can have different options than the maker's page. Compare the price of the finished clip you need, not the model name.
What does a 60 second story cost?
This is our own arithmetic from the published rates, not a vendor quote. It assumes you keep every clip, which you will not: retries are normal, so multiply for your own hit rate. The API rows are list rates, not what a consumer plan costs.
Kling 3.0 API, with audio
- How we got it
- 0.9 units a second x $0.14 = $0.126 a second
- 60 s of video
- about $7.56
Seedance 2.0, BytePlus
- How we got it
- $0.76 per 5 s = $0.152 a second
- 60 s of video
- about $9.12
Seedance 2.5, BytePlus
- How we got it
- $1.156 per 5 s = $0.2312 a second
- 60 s of video
- about $13.87
Gemini Omni Flash, API
- How we got it
- about $0.10 a second (Flow caps clips at 10 s; API cap not confirmed)
- 60 s of video
- about $6.00
Runway, Gen-4.5
- How we got it
- 60 credits per 5 s; $15 / 625 credits = $0.024 a credit; 12 clips
- 60 s of video
- about $17.28
Pika, Seedance 2.5
- How we got it
- 122 credits per 5 s; Starter $10 / 900 credits = $0.0111 a credit; 12 clips
- 60 s of video
- about $16.27
Veo 3.1 and Flow
- How we got it
- Credits only, no dollar price published
- 60 s of video
- not published
Higgsfield, Seedance 2.0
- How we got it
- Credits only; dollar price per credit not captured
- 60 s of video
- not published
| Route | How we got it | 60 s of video |
|---|---|---|
| Kling 3.0 API, with audio | 0.9 units a second x $0.14 = $0.126 a second | about $7.56 |
| Seedance 2.0, BytePlus | $0.76 per 5 s = $0.152 a second | about $9.12 |
| Seedance 2.5, BytePlus | $1.156 per 5 s = $0.2312 a second | about $13.87 |
| Gemini Omni Flash, API | about $0.10 a second (Flow caps clips at 10 s; API cap not confirmed) | about $6.00 |
| Runway, Gen-4.5 | 60 credits per 5 s; $15 / 625 credits = $0.024 a credit; 12 clips | about $17.28 |
| Pika, Seedance 2.5 | 122 credits per 5 s; Starter $10 / 900 credits = $0.0111 a credit; 12 clips | about $16.27 |
| Veo 3.1 and Flow | Credits only, no dollar price published | not published |
| Higgsfield, Seedance 2.0 | Credits only; dollar price per credit not captured | not published |
Can you use the output commercially?
Terms differ by vendor, and this is not legal advice. Higgsfield's help article says outputs belong to the user and commercial use is not restricted (Terms 4.4), with a watermark on free plans. Runway's Terms 4.4 say it "does not restrict your commercial use of your Outputs," and also that Runway may use inputs and outputs to train its models. Pika's Free plan has no commercial licence; Starter and above do.
Kling is the conflict. Its Terms of Service say commercial use of output needs written permission, while its membership page says paid plans include "Generated content is for commercial use" and free plans do not. We read the Terms only as a fragment, so ask Kling in writing if the answer matters. For BytePlus direct and MiniMax we did not find or read the licence text. Platform rules for AI labels are a separate matter; the story video guide covers YouTube, TikTok and Instagram.
What does the course use?
The landing page for AI Video Empire, our course on animated story videos with a designed character and no face on camera, says its video model must take images and a long prompt, and names Higgsfield with Seedance for that job. That is the whole rule we state here: pick a video model that takes reference images and a long prompt. Pair it with the prompt format in JSON prompts for AI video and a character method like the one in consistent AI characters. The course stack also uses Nano Banana Pro for images and Claude Code as a writing partner, each on its own paid plan, and it is a one-time payment of $27. We sell it, so weigh this section accordingly. That is a choice for one format, not a ranking for everyone. Nobody can promise views.
What we read and did not test
We read the vendor pages cited below on October 22, 2026. We did not generate a story with every model. Vendor claims about consistency and lip sync are the vendors' own. Runway Gen-4.5 specs, MiniMax aspect ratios and licence, Higgsfield aspect ratios and credits per clip, and BytePlus commercial terms were not confirmed. The Higgsfield Terms page was not fetched directly; we relied on its help article. Kling pricing differed between two of its own pages. The Google conflict is easiest to see by reading the video generation guide next to the Veo guide. Plans change monthly, so re-check before you pay.
Frequently asked questions
What is the best AI video generator for animated stories?
There is no single winner, but for story shorts choose a model that accepts reference images, outputs 9:16, makes clips of 8 to 15 seconds and generates dialogue. Seedance, Kling 3.0, Google Veo and MiniMax H3 meet most of that on their own pages. The AI Video Empire course uses Nano Banana Pro for characters and Seedance on Higgsfield for video.
Which AI video generator keeps a character consistent?
Higgsfield says Seedance 2.0 keeps faces and clothing stable from uploaded reference images, Kling 3.0 offers Omni reference workflows, and Veo 3.1 accepts up to three reference images. These are vendor claims. Creators in r/generativeAI still call identity drift between shots the hardest part, so test your own character first.
How long can an AI video clip be?
Per vendor pages checked on Oct 22, 2026: Seedance 2.5 up to 30 seconds and Seedance 2.0 up to 15, Kling 3.0 from 3 to 15, MiniMax H3 up to 15, Veo 3.1 up to 8, and Gemini Omni Flash up to 10 in Flow. Runway's Gen-4.5 length was not confirmed. Longer stories are built from several clips.
Can I use AI video for monetised or commercial posts?
Terms differ. Higgsfield says it does not restrict commercial use of outputs, and Runway's Terms say the same. Kling's Terms and its plan page disagree, so read both. Pika's Free plan has no commercial licence. Read the vendor terms and each platform's AI content rules. This is not legal advice.
What happened to Sora?
OpenAI says the Sora web and app experiences were discontinued on April 26, 2026, and the Sora API on September 24, 2026. Any guide that still recommends Sora for story videos is out of date. OpenAI's help center page explains what to know about the discontinuation and how to keep what you made.
How much does one AI video clip cost?
It depends on model and resolution. On BytePlus a 5 second Seedance 2.0 clip lists at $0.76 for 720p and $1.87 for 1080p. Pika prices a Seedance 2.5 720p 5 second clip at 122 credits. Veo and Gemini Omni Flash in Flow publish credits, not dollars per clip. Prices change often.
Can ChatGPT make animated videos?
ChatGPT can help write the script and shot list, but OpenAI has discontinued the Sora app and API, so animated video now comes from other models such as Seedance, Kling, Veo or MiniMax H3. We did not test ChatGPT's own features for this article, so check OpenAI's current pages.
Sources
- OpenAI Help: What to know about the Sora discontinuationSora web and app discontinued April 26, 2026, API discontinued September 24, 2026. Read October 22, 2026.
- BytePlus ModelArk: Seedance 2.5 tutorialSeedance 2.5 clip length 4 to 30 seconds, up to 50 reference assets, aspect ratios from 21:9 to 9:16. Read October 22, 2026.
- BytePlus ModelArk: pricingSeedance 2.5 5 second 720p at $1.156 without video input and Seedance 2.0 5 second 720p at $0.76. Read October 22, 2026.
- Higgsfield: Seedance 2.0Up to 15 seconds per shot, dialogue with lip sync, up to 9 images, 3 videos and 3 audio files per generation. Vendor claims. Read October 22, 2026.
- Higgsfield: pricingBasic plan 120 credits a month, about 7 Seedance 2.0 Fast videos. Plan text only partly captured. Read October 22, 2026.
- Higgsfield Help: who owns my generations and can I use them commerciallyOutputs belong to the user and commercial use is not restricted (Terms 4.4); watermark on free plans. Dated August 1, 2026. Read October 22, 2026.
- Gemini API: Veo 3.1Veo 3.1 clip lengths, aspect ratios, reference images, and the preview model name that is still shown. Read October 22, 2026.
- Gemini API: video generationStates that the Veo 3.1 Preview in the Gemini API has been shut down and recommends Gemini Omni Flash. Contradicts the Veo page. Read October 22, 2026.
- Gemini API: pricingGemini Omni Flash about $0.10 per second at 720p. Read October 22, 2026.
- Google Flow help: creditsCredits per generation, 50 free credits a day and 1,000 a month on Pro. Read October 22, 2026.
- Google DeepMind: VeoNative audio, and the note that speech remains an area of active development. Read October 22, 2026.
- Kling: Kling 3.0 credit cost guide3 to 15 second clips, native audio, Omni references, Standard 660 credits a month. Read October 22, 2026.
- Kling membership plansPlan structure and the line that paid plans include commercial use. Prices differ from the blog, so we print no single price. Read October 22, 2026.
- Kling: Terms of ServiceCommercial use of output needs written permission. Read as a fragment. Read October 22, 2026.
- Kling: API pricingOne unit is $0.14 and Kling 3.0 720p with audio is 0.9 units per second. Read October 22, 2026.
- Runway: pricingStandard $15 a month for 625 credits, Gen-4.5 at 60 credits per 5 seconds, and Seedance 2.5, Kling 3.0 and Nano Banana Pro on Pro and Max. Read October 22, 2026.
- Runway API: modelsModel list. Gen-4.5 duration and aspect ratios were not confirmed. Read October 22, 2026.
- Runway API: pricing12 credits per second at $0.01 a credit and hailuo3 credits per second. Read October 22, 2026.
- Runway: Terms of UseSection 4.4: Runway does not restrict commercial use of Outputs, and may use inputs and outputs to train its models. Read October 22, 2026.
- MiniMax: MiniMax H3Native stereo sound, up to 15 seconds at 2K, the commercial content line. Aspect ratios, price and licence were not confirmed. Read October 22, 2026.
- Pika: pricingStarter $10 for 900 credits, Creator $35 for 3,150, Seedance 2.5 720p 5 seconds at 122 credits, commercial licence from Starter and none on Free. Read October 22, 2026.
- r/generativeAI: Which is the best AI to generate animation videos?Anonymised user comments on identity drift and workflows. Single claims, not data. Read October 22, 2026.
Cite this page
Last verified: Oct 22, 2026
Patel, O. (2026, October 22). Best AI video generator for animated stories (2026): what each one lets you make. Rushilo. https://rushilo.com/blog/best-ai-video-generator-for-stories

About the author
Founder, Rushilo
Om Patel is the founder of Rushilo, a desktop video editor driven by the user's own AI, and of BigIdeasDB, a research platform that reads real complaints and reviews to help founders validate products. He writes Rushilo's research articles with the same method: primary sources, dated numbers and the words real users write.